Finance Journals: Home

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is the most widely cited academic journal on finance. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

The Journal of Financial Economics provides a specialized forum for the publication of research in the area of financial economics and the theory of the firm, placing primary emphasis on the highest quality analytical, empirical, and clinical contributions in the following major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations.

Econometrica publishes original articles in all branches of economics - theoretical and empirical, abstract and applied, providing wide-ranging coverage across the subject area. It promotes studies that aim at the unification of the theoretical-quantitative and the empirical-quantitative approach to economic problems and that are penetrated by constructive and rigorous thinking. It explores a unique range of topics each year - from the frontier of theoretical developments in many new and important areas, to research on current and applied economic problems, to methodologically innovative, theoretical and applied studies in econometrics.

The Economic Journal is among the foremost of the learned journals in economics, and is invaluable to anyone with an active interest in economic issues. It is a key source for professional economists in higher education, business, government service and the financial sector, and represents unbeatable value for those who want to keep abreast in current thinking in economics. In recent years the number of pages has increased (it now contains 8 issues a year) while the price has been held down.

European Financial Management publishes the best research from around the world, providing a forum for both academics and practitioners concerned with the financial management of modern corporation and financial institutions. The journal publishes signficant new finance research on timely issues and highlights key trends in Europe in a clear and accessible way, with articles covering international research and practice that have direct or indirect bearing on Europe.

The Review of Finance is a peer-reviewed journal that competes for the best articles in the field of finance and aims at a wide circulation and visibility in the profession. The journal's editorial policy is guided by two criteria: quality and innovation. The board welcomes submissions of high-quality papers in all areas of financial economics: established areas such as asset pricing, corporate finance, banking and market microstructure, but also newly developing fields such as law and finance, behavioral finance and experimental finance. A high-quality paper will not be turned down on the basis of being controversial or in a field outside of mainstream finance.

Articles in JB examine emerging trends and fast-changing concerns faced by domestic and international business communities-from a comprehensive range of areas, including business finance and investment, money and banking, marketing, security markets, business economics, accounting practices, social issues and public policy, management organization, statistics and econometrics, administration and management, international trade and finance, and personnel, industrial relations, and labor.

JBFA sponsors an annual Capital Markets Conference, with conference papers being published in a Special Issue each year.

Topical areas of interest include, but are not limited to: financial structure, payout policies, corporate restructuring, financial contracts, corporate governance arrangements, the economics of organizations, the influence of legal structures, and international financial management. Papers that apply asset pricing and microstructure analysis to corporate finance issues are also welcome.

The Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP) attempts to fill a gap between the general interest press and most other academic economics journals. The journal aims to publish articles that will serve several goals: to synthesize and integrate lessons learned from active lines of economic research; to provide economic analysis of public policy issues; to encourage cross-fertilization of ideas among the fields of thinking; to offer readers an accessible source for state-of-the-art economic thinking; to suggest directions for future research; to provide insights and readings for classroom use; and to address issues relating to the economics profession. Articles appearing in the journal are normally solicited by the editors and associate editors. Proposals for topics and authors should be directed to the journal office.

The Journal of Empirical Finance provides an international forum for empirical researchers in the intersection of the fields of econometrics and finance. The Journal welcomes high quality articles in empirical finance. Empirical finance encompasses the testing of well-established or new theories using financial data, the measurement of variables relevant in financial decision-making, the econometric analysis of financial market data or the development of new econometric methodology with finance applications. Submissions in any field of finance, corporate, international, asset pricing, market microstructure, etc. are welcome.

Possible topics include but are not limited to:

• Modelling and forecasting asset returns• Modelling, measuring and forecasting volatility and risk premia• The capital asset pricing model, multifactor models• Term structure of interest rate models• Empirical pricing models for options and other derivatives• Empirical studies in corporate finance• Exchange rate determination and other empirical studies in international finance • Microstructure of security markets• Modelling emerging markets• Evaluating the performance of portfolio management• Modelling high frequency data, transactions data, non-synchronous trading• Risk management and hedging• Empirical credit risk modelling

The Journal of Financial Markets publishes high quality original research on applied and theoretical issues related to securities trading and pricing. Area of coverage includes the analysis and design of trading mechanisms, optimal order placement strategies, the role of information in securities markets, financial intermediation as it relates to securities investments - for example, the structure of brokerage and mutual fund industries, and analyses of short and long run horizon price behaviour. The journal strives to maintain a balance between theoretical and empirical work, and aims to provide prompt and constructive reviews to paper submitters.

The Journal of Futures Markets chronicles the latest developments in financial futures and derivatives. It publishes timely, innovative articles written by leading finance academics and professionals. Coverage ranges from the highly practical to theoretical topics that include futures, derivatives, risk management and control, financial engineering, new financial instruments, hedging strategies, analysis of trading systems, legal, accounting, and regulatory issues, and portfolio optimization. This publication contains the very latest research from the top experts.

The Journal of International Economics is intended to serve as the primary outlet for theoretical and empirical research in all areas of international economics. These include, but are not limited to the following: trade patterns, commercial policy; international institutions; exchange rates; open economy macroeconomics; international finance; international factor mobility. The Journal especially encourages the submission of articles which are empirical in nature, or deal with issues of open economy macroeconomics and international finance.

Theoretical work submitted to the Journal should be original in its motivation or modelling structure. Empirical analysis should be based on a theoretical framework, and should be capable of replication. It is expected that all materials required for replication (including computer programs and data sets) should be available upon request to the authors.

The profession has witnessed over the past twenty years a remarkable expansion of research activities bearing on problems in the broader field of monetary economics. The strong interest in monetary analysis has been increasingly matched in recent years by the growing attention to the working and structure of financial institutions. The role of various institutional arrangements, the consequences of specific changes in banking structure and the welfare aspects of structural policies have attracted an increasing interest in the profession. There has also been a growing attention to the operation of credit markets and to various aspects in the behavior of rates of return on assets. The Journal of Monetary Economics provides a specialized forum for the publication of this research.

One of the oldest and most prestigious journals in economics, the Journal of Political Economy has since 1892 presented significant research and scholarship in economic theory and practice. The journal aims to publish highly selective, widely cited articles of current relevance that will have a long-term impact on economics research. JPE's analytical, interpretive, and empirical studies in a number of areas - including monetary theory, fiscal policy, labor economics, development, micro- and macroeconomic theory, international trade and finance, industrial organization, and social economics - are essential reading for all economists wishing to keep up with substantive new research in the discipline.

Recent times have seen an expansion of theoretical and empirical research on real estate using the paradigms and methodologies of finance and economics. Examples of this research include the working and structure of markets, the role of various institutional arrangements, the attention given mortgages and asset securitization, risk management and valuation, and public policy and regulation. The Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics provides a forum for the publication of this research. Coverage includes urban economics, housing, regional science and public policy.

Our Journal's focus is to investigate and expand the frontiers of knowledge that cover business decision-making applications through scholarly real estate research. ARES has a special interest in research that can be useful to the business decision maker in areas such as development, finance, management, market analysis, marketing, and valuation. To promote research in real estate and to show appreciation to authors who submit articles to the Journal, ARES established three best paper-awards (US$25,000, US $10,000 and $5,000) for papers published in JRER.

The Journal of Risk and Insurance publishes rigorous, original research in insurance economics and risk management. This includes the following areas of specialization: (1) industrial organization of insurance markets; (2) management of risks in the private and public sectors; (3) insurance finance, financial pricing, financial management; (4) economics of employee benefits, pension plans, and social insurance; (5) utility theory, demand for insurance, moral hazard, and adverse selection; (6) insurance regulation; (7) actuarial and statistical methodology; and (8) economics of insurance institutions. Both theoretical and empirical submissions are encouraged. Empirical work should provide tests of hypotheses based on sound theoretical foundations.

Mathematical Finance is a high-quality journal which brings together work on the mathematical aspects of finance theory from such diverse fields as finance, economics, mathematics, and statistics. An essential resource for academic finance researchers and practitioners alike, the journal publishes clear and concise articles which present the latest theoretical developments in an accessible way. Modern finance is becoming increasingly technical, requiring the use of sophisticated mathematical tools in both research and practice. Mathematical Finance offers a forum for the publication of articles which employ these techniques, as well as providing a much-needed bridge between mathematical scientists and financial economists.

The Pacific-Basin Finance Journal is aimed at providing a specialized forum for the publication of academic research on capital markets of the Asia-Pacific countries. Primary emphasis will be placed on the highest quality empirical and theoretical research in the following areas:

• Market Micro-structure;
• Investment and Portfolio Management;
• Theories of Market Equilibrium;
• Valuation of Financial and Real Assets;
• Behavior of Asset Prices in Financial Sectors;
• Normative Theory of Financial Management;
• Capital Markets of Development;
• Market Mechanisms.

The Quarterly Review of Economics and Finance (QREF) attracts and publishes high quality manuscripts that cover topics in the areas of economics, financial economics and finance. The subject matter may be theoretical, empirical or policy related. Emphasis is placed on quality, originality, clear arguments, persuasive evidence, intelligent analysis and clear writing. At least one Special Issue is published per year. These issues have guest editors, are devoted to a single theme and the papers have well known authors. In addition we pride ourselves in being able to provide three to four article "Focus" sections in most of our issues. These "Focus" sections have a common theme, may or may not have a guest editor, and often contain papers that were presented in a session at a regional, national or international meeting. These can be published in a very timely manner. Finally, QREF is the journal of the Midwest Economic Association. At least two members are chosen by this organization to serve on the editorial board. The editors of QREF place special efforts into working with young authors.

As the official journal of the American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association, Real Estate Economics is the premier journal on real estate topics. Since 1973, Real Estate Economics has been facilitating communication among academic researchers and industry professionals and improving the analysis of real estate decisions. Articles span a wide range of issues, from tax rules to brokers' commissions to corporate real estate including housing and urban economics, and the financial economics of real estate development and investment.

A Leader in its Field

Founded in 1933 by a group of young British and American economists, The Review of Economic Studies aims to encourage research in theoretical and applied economics, especially by young economists. Today it is one of the core economics journals, ranking consistently among the top half dozen titles.

The Review of Economic Studies is essential reading, including articles from well-established specialists and young research scholars, and has a reputation for publishing path-breaking papers in theoretical and applied economics.

Key features:

One of today's core economics journals
Path-breaking papers in theoretical and applied economics
Consistently ranked among the top half dozen economic titles
Articles from the best new and established researchers
Average decision time for new submissions below 4 months
Envourages research in applied economics, especially from young economists
A leader in its field since 1933
Special multiple-year subscriptions available
Excellent value for money

The Review of Financial Studies is a major forum for the promotion and wide dissemination of significant new research in financial economics.

As reflected by its broadly based editorial board, the Review balances theoretical and empirical contributions. The primary criteria for publishing a paper are its quality and importance to the field of finance, without undue regard to its technical difficulty. Finance is interpreted broadly to include the interface between finance and economics.

Review of Quantitative Finance and Accounting deals with research involving the interaction of finance with accounting, economics and quantitative methods, focused on finance and accounting.

The papers published present useful theoretical and methodological results with the support of interesting empirical applications. Purely theoretical and methodological research with the potential for important applications is also published. Besides the traditional high-quality, theoretical and empirical research in finance, the journal also publishes papers dealing with interdisciplinary topics including:
Financial accounting which uses financial and economic theory and/or methodology;
Managerial accounting and auditing which use financial and economic theory and/or methodology to deal with internal accounting data and decision making;
Macro-economics which uses finance theory and/or methodology to analyze fiscal and/or monetary policies;
Managerial economics which uses financial theory and/or methodology to analyze the decisions of a firm.

This paper prepares a list of the 300 most cited articles published in the area of Finance during the period 2000–2006. The articles are ranked based on the ratio of the number of citations and the number of years since publication, as of August 2007. Citation data come from Google Scholar and cover all articles in 29 Finance journals and Finance articles in 21 Economics, six Accounting, and two Operations research journals. The paper also reports the number of highly cited articles by number of authors, journal, research area, and institution.

In this paper we use a new method to rank finance journals and study the pattern of authorship/co-authorship across journals. Defined as the ratio of articles authored by faculty at the world's top 80 finance programs to the total number of articles by all authors, the Author Affiliation Index is a cost-effective and intuitively easy-to-understand approach to journal rankings. Forty-one finance journals are ranked according to this index. If properly constructed, the Author Affiliation Index provides an easy and credible way to supplement the existing journal ranking methods. Our ranking system reveals the journal-researcher clientele, and we find that collaboration (co-authoring) between faculty within elite programs exists only in top-tier and near-top-tier journals.